Approach

OUR VALUE-BASED INVESTMENT PHILOSOPHY ALLOWS US TO CONFIDENTLY NAVIGATE MARKET CYCLES WHILE KEEPING OUR SIGHTS ON LONG-TERM GOALS.

Our portfolio managers follow the principles of the value-based approach developed by the father of fundamental analysis, Benjamin Graham, and followed so successfully by his renowned student Warren Buffett. Applying this method, our managers search foremost for undervalued investments in profitable, quality businesses with robust balance sheets. We are particularly drawn to dividend-paying stocks.

As business owners, our focus is on the long-term, resulting in less turnover of portfolio holdings.

We scrutinize all companies under consideration, irrespective of third-party analyses available on the market. Our investment committee, including the firm’s portfolio managers and analysts, meets regularly to review portfolio holdings and discuss investment opportunities.

Over the years, we have certainly had the opportunity to see how tempting it is for investors to precipitately change their investment strategy at the worst time. On the other hand, our phlegmatic and rational approach has proven to be prudent and rewarding over the long haul.

The start of a great rotation
May 4th, 2021

The year of COVID-19
February 9th, 2021

Summary of the 2020 third quarter
November 15th, 2020

2020 : The stock market in context
August 25th, 2020

Actions canadiennes

Depuis 1995

Approche

Fidèles à notre philosophie d’investissement de style valeur, nous maintenons le cap sur notre approche, indépendamment des humeurs du marché.

Nous adhérons aux principes de l’approche « Valeur » développée par Benjamin Graham, le père de l’analyse fondamentale, et appliquée avec brio par son illustre élève Warren Buffett. Ce faisant, nous investissons à bas prix dans des entreprises profitables, de qualité et ayant de robustes bilans. Nous avons également un biais favorable envers les titres à dividendes.

En gens d’affaires, nous faisons preuve d’une vision à long terme comme en témoigne la faible rotation des titres en portefeuille découlant de cette stratégie.

Nous procédons à notre propre évaluation rigoureuse des entreprises, indépendamment des analyses des firmes de courtage. Notre comité de placement, composé des gestionnaires et des analystes de la firme, se réunit chaque semaine pour réviser l’évaluation des titres en portefeuille ainsi qu'afin d’identifier de nouvelles opportunités d’investissement.

Au fil des ans, nous avons souvent observé des investisseurs qui sous le coup de l'émotion voulaient changer de stratégie au mauvais moment. À l’opposé, la stabilité de notre approche flegmatique et rationnelle a généré historiquement des rendements supérieurs.