Investment process

OUR VALUE-BASED INVESTMENT PHILOSOPHY ALLOWS US TO CONFIDENTLY NAVIGATE MARKET CYCLES WHILE KEEPING OUR SIGHTS ON LONG-TERM GOALS.

Investment process

Our portfolio managers follow the principles of the value-based approach developed by the father of fundamental analysis, Benjamin Graham, and followed so successfully by his renowned student Warren Buffett. Applying this method, our managers search foremost for undervalued investments in profitable, quality businesses with robust balance sheets. We are particularly drawn to dividend-paying stocks and our vision is focused on the long-term.

Our stock selection process within the investment universe uses a bottom-up fundamental analysis. It is intended to be rational and is executed with rigor, discipline and independence.

Research

Each year, we produce approximately 300 detailed independent research reports and updates on Canadian and global public companies. Our main assessment criteria are: valuation multiples, balance sheet, profitability, and dividends. Research report presentations and analyst ratings are discussed at investment committees that are held once or twice a week. For idea generation, we use a combination of quantitative filters and qualitative analysis (competitors, suppliers, customers, news).

Portolio construction

Following the investment committees, portfolio managers meet to discuss the ratings, give their final recommendation and update the portfolios. Based on our 5-level rating system (1=strong buy signal, 2=buy 3=hold, 4=reduce and 5 = sell), a security will only enter our portfolio if it receives a 1 or a 2. Our decision-making process is collegial and our portfolios are a reflection of our best ideas, so they are concentrated (between 25 and 45 positions, equally weighted).

Buy and sell

As we keep a long-term view, the turnover of our portfolios is low (< 20% annually). We purchase a new security once its rating reaches or surpasses a 2 on a scale of 1 to 5. We will exit a security if the market price is overvalued (high price-to-earnings ratio), if we observe a deterioration in the balance sheet, or following a take-over.

Portfolio monitoring and Risk management

Following the release of quarterly earnings, the research reports and ratings given by our analysts are updated and presented to the next investment committee.

Our portfolios are monitored in real time (performance, security weights, ratings) through our internal integrated portfolio management system (IPM). Our system allows us to model and track portfolio constraints before and after any transaction (% by security, sector, cash level, market capitalization, restrictions on a specific security, etc.).

Growth stocks lead the markets
October 19th, 2018

When inflation wakes up
May 14th, 2018

A volatile first quarter to start the year
April 23rd, 2018

"Blue chips": 3 stocks that Alexandre Legault likes
February 8th, 2018

Stratégies d'actions canadiennes

au 31 Mars 2018

Stratégies d'actions mondiales

au 31 Mars 2018

Processus de gestion

Notre philosophie d’investissement de style valeur nous dicte de maintenir le cap sur le plan initial, indépendamment des humeurs du marché.

Processus de gestion

Nous adhérons aux principes de l’approche « Valeur » développée par Benjamin Graham, le père de l’analyse fondamentale, et appliquée avec brio par son illustre élève Warren Buffett. Ce faisant, nous investissons à bas prix dans des entreprises profitables, de qualité et ayant de robustes bilans. Nous avons un biais favorable envers les titres à dividendes et nous faisons preuve d’une vision à long terme.

Notre processus est ascendant et basé sur une analyse fondamentale des titres de notre univers d’investissement. Il se veut rationnel et est exécuté avec rigueur, discipline et indépendance..

Recherche

Chaque année, nous produisons de manière indépendante environ 300 rapports de recherche détaillés et autant de mises à jour sur des compagnies publiques canadiennes et mondiales. Nos principaux critères d’évaluation sont : la valorisation (multiples), le bilan, la rentabilité, et les dividendes. Les présentations des rapports de recherche et les cotes des analystes sont discutées aux comités d’investissement qui se tiennent d’une à deux fois par semaine. Pour la génération d'idée, nous utilisons une combinaison de filtres quantitatifs et d’analyse qualitative (compétiteurs, fournisseurs, clients, nouvelles).

Construction de portefeuille

Suite aux comités d’investissement, les gestionnaires se rencontrent pour en débattre, donnent leur recommandation finale et mettent à jour les portefeuilles. En fonction de notre système de cotes à 5 niveaux (1=fort signal d’achat, 2=achat 3=maintien 4=réduction 5=vente), un titre se retrouvera dans notre portefeuille seulement s’il obtient un 1 ou un 2. Notre processus décisionnel est collégial et nos portefeuilles se veulent une réflexion de nos meilleures idées, ils sont donc concentrés (entre 25 et 45 positions, équipondérées).

Achat et vente

Comme nous avons une vision à long terme, le taux de roulement de nos portefeuilles est faible (<20%). Nous procédons à un nouvel achat lorsqu’un titre voit sa cote atteindre un niveau égal ou supérieur à 2 sur une échelle de 1 à 5. Nous sortirons d’un titre si le prix au marché est surévalué (multiple élevé), si nous observons une détérioration du bilan, ou lors d’une prise de contrôle.

Suivi des positions et gestion du risque

Suite aux publications de résultats trimestriels, le rapport de recherche et la cote attribuée par les analystes sont mis à jour et présentés au prochain comité d’investissement.

Nos portefeuilles sont suivis en temps réel (performance, pondérations par titre, cotes) grâce à notre système interne de gestion de portefeuille intégré (GPI). Notre système nous permet de modéliser et suivre les contraintes de portefeuille avant et après toute transaction (% par titre, par secteur, niveau d’encaisse, capitalisation boursière, restrictions sur un titre précis, etc.).